MINUTES OF THE ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING OF THE REDCLIFF TOWN COUNCIL MONDAY, OCTOBER 23, 2017 - 6:30 P.M.

PRESENT:

Mayor:

D. Kilpatrick

Councillors:

S. Cockle, C. Crozier

C. Czember, L. Leipert E. Solberg, J. Steinke

Municipal Manager

A. Crofts

Manager of Legislative

& Land Services

S. Simon

Director of Community

& Protective Services

K. Dalton

Director of Planning

& Engineering

J. Johansen

1. **GENERAL**

Call to Order by Municipal

Manager

A) Municipal Manager called the organizational meeting to order at 6:30 p.m.

Swearing in of Mayor

B) Municipal Manager A. Crofts conducted the ceremony whereby Mayor Kilpatrick took the oath of office.

Municipal Manager passed the gavel to Mayor Kilpatrick.

Swearing in of Councillors

C) Mayor Kilpatrick conducted the ceremony whereby Councillors C. Crozier, L. Leipert, E. Solberg, J. Steinke, S. Cockle and C. Czember took the oath of office.

Appointment of Deputy Mayor

D) Mayor Kilpatrick conducted the ceremony whereby Councillors C. Crozier, L. Leipert, E. Solberg, J. Steinke, S. Cockle and C. Czember took the oath of Deputy Mayor for the interim periods as follows:

Cathy Crozier Larry Leipert Eric Solbera Jim Steinke Shawna Cockle Chris Czember

October 23, 2017 - June 25, 2018 June 26, 2018 - February 25, 2019 February 26, 2019 – October 28, 2019 October 29, 2019 - June 22, 2020 June 23, 2020 - February 22, 2021 February 23, 2021 - October 25, 2021

2017-0387 Council Meeting Dates and Times

- E) Councillor Leipert moved to establish Council meetings for the next Council term as follows:
 - Second and fourth Monday of the month with the following exceptions:
 - December second Monday of the month
 - July third Monday of the month
 - August third Monday of the month

TOIC B

Should a Monday meeting fall on a holiday, the meeting will be held on the Tuesday following the holiday. Council meetings will be held at 7:00 p.m. in the Town Hall Council Chambers. - Carried.

2. OTHER

2017-0388	Appointment to Boards
	and Commissions

A) Councillor Solberg moved the attached document outlining Council member appointments to Committees, Boards and Commissions be approved as amended. - Carried.

2017-0389 Seating Arrangements of Council

B) Councillor Leipert moved Council seating arrangements be as discussed. - Carried.

3. ADJOURNMENT

2017-0390 Adjournment

Councillor Solberg moved to adjourn the meeting at 7:01 p.m. - Carried.

Mayor Kilpatrick

Manager of Legislative & Land Services

Appointment of Council Members to Committees, Boards & Commissions

ASSESSMENT REVIEW BOARD

Councillor Cathy Crozier Councillor Chris Czember Mayor Dwight Kilpatrick As established by the board in conjunction with the Board Clerk

CANADA DAY COMMITTEE

Councillor Jim Steinke

at the call of the Chair

CANADIAN BADLANDS

Councillor Chris Czember Alternate – Councillor Eric Solberg **Annual General Meeting**

COMMUNITY ADVISORY COMMITTEE (RCMP)

3rd Wednesday Bi-monthly at 6:00 pm

Councillor Cathy Crozier Alternate – Councillor Shawna Cockle

CYPRESS VIEW FOUNDATION

3rd Thursday @ 9:00 a.m.

Councillor Shawna Cockle Councillor Eric Solberg

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT ALLIANCE OF SOUTH EAST ALBERTA 2nd Tuesday 8 a.m.

Councillor Jim Steinke Alternate - Larry Leipert

EMERGENCY ADVISORY COMMITTEE (EAC)

Mayor Dwight Kilpatrick Councillor Cathy Crozier Councillor Larry Leipert annually or at the call of the chair

ENTRE-CORP

4th Wednesday @ 1:00 p.m.

Mayor Dwight Kilpatrick Alternate – Councillor Chris Czember

MEDICINE HAT AND DISTRICT CHAMBER OF COMMERCE

2nd Tuesday @ 8 a.m.

Councillor Larry Leipert
Alternate – Councillor Eric Solberg

MUNICIPAL DEVELOPMENT PLAN (MDP) STEERING COMMITTEE

As required

Mayor Dwight Kilpatrick Alternate – Councillor Larry Leipert

Book

MUNICIPAL PLANNING COMMISSION

3rd Wednesday @ 12:30 p.m.

Councillor Jim Steinke Councillor Larry Leipert Councillor Shawna Cockle

PALLISER ECONOMIC PARTNERSHIP

at the call of the Chair

Councillor Eric Solberg

REDCLIFF AND DISTRICT RECREATION SERVICES BOARD

1st Monday @7:00 p.m.

Councillor Shawna Cockle
Alternate – Councillor Eric Solberg

REDCLIFF ACTION SOCIETY FOR YOUTH

1st Tuesday of each month @ 6:30 p.m.

Councillor Cathy Crozier
Alternate – Councillor Chris Czember

REDCLIFF/CYPRESS REGIONAL WASTE MANAGEMENT AUTHORITY

Councillor Cathy Crozier Councillor Larry Leipert Alternate – Councillor Jim Steinke Annually and/or at the call of the chair

REDCLIFF DAYS COMMITTEE

Councillor Chris Czember Alternate – Councillor Jim Steinke

RIVERVIEW GOLF CLUB

2nd Thursday @ 7 p.m.

Councillor Chris Czember Alternate – Councillor Larry Leipert

REDCLIFF FAMILY & COMMUNITY SUPPORT SERVICES BOARD (FCSS)

Councillor Cathy Crozier
Alternate - Councillor Eric Solberg

2nd Tuesday @ 7:00p.m.

REDCLIFF MUSEUM AND HISTORICAL SOCIETY

2nd Thursday @ 7:00 p.m.

Mayor Dwight Kilpatrick Alternate – Councillor Eric Solberg

REDCLIFF PUBLIC LIBRARY

Last Tuesday @ 7:30 p.m.

Councillor Jim Steinke

SCHOOL/TOWN JOINT USE COMMITTEE

As required

Councillor Jim Steinke Alternate – Councillor Shawna Cockle

Dy XX

SENIOR CITIZENS BOARD

Councillor Larry Leipert
Alternate – Councillor Chris Czember

1st Thursday @ 2:00 p.m.

SHORTGRASS LIBRARY SYSTEM

Mayor Dwight Kilpatrick Alternate – Councillor Jim Steinke 3rd Wednesday @ 1:00 p.m.

SOUTHEAST ALBERTA WATERSHED ALLIANCE

Councillor Larry Leipert Alternate – Mayor Dwight Kilpatrick

SUBDIVISION AND DEVELOPMENT APPEAL BOARD

As required

Councillor Shawna Cockle Councillor Cathy Crozier

Box

COMMITTEE AND BOARD MEMBERS REDCLIFF TOWN COUNCIL

MAYOR DWIGHT KILPATRICK

Assessment Review Board **Emergency Advisory Committee** Entre-Corp Municipal Development Plan Steering Committee (MDP) Redcliff Museum & Historical Society Shortgrass Library System Southeast Alberta Watershed Alliance

COUNCILLOR SHAWNA COCKLE

Community Advisory Committee (RCMP) (Alternate) Cypress View Foundation Municipal Planning Commission Redcliff and District Recreation Services Board School/Town Joint Use Committee

COUNCILLOR CATHY CROZIER

Assessment Review Board Community Advisory Committee (RCMP) **Emergency Advisory Committee** Family and Community Support Services Board (FCSS) Redcliff Action Society for Youth Redcliff/Cypress Regional Waste Management Authority Subdivision and Development Appeal Board

COUNCILLOR CHRIS CZEMBER

Assessment Review Board Canadian Badlands Entre-Corp (Alternate) Redcliff Action Society for Youth (Alternate) Redcliff Days Committee Riverview Golf Club Senior Citizens Board (Alternate)

COUNCILLOR LARRY LEIPERT

Economic Development Alliance of South East Alberta (Alternate) Emergency Advisory Committee (EAC) Medicine Hat and District Chamber of Commerce Municipal Development Plan Steering Committee (MDP) (Alternate) Municipal Planning Commission Redcliff/Cypress Regional Waste Management Authority Riverview Golf Club (Alternate) Senior Citizens Board Southeast Alberta Watershed Alliance



COUNCILLOR ERIC SOLBERG

Canadian Badlands (Alternate)
Cypress View Foundation
Family and Community Support Services Board (FCSS) (Alternate)
Medicine Hat and District Chamber of Commerce (Alternate)
Palliser Economic Partnership
Redcliff and District Recreation Services Board (Alternate)
Redcliff Museum and Historical Society (Alternate)

COUNCILLOR JIM STEINKE

Canada Day Committee
Economic Development Alliance of SE Alberta
Municipal Planning Commission
Redcliff Cypress Regional Waste Management Authority (Alternate)
Redcliff Days Committee (Alternate)
Redcliff Public Library
School/Town Joint Use Committee
Shortgrass Library System (Alternate)

8 DK